Power Houses: Furnishing Authority in New France,  1660-1760
  • Home
  • Blog

La Collection Harbinson       The Harbinson Collection

5/29/2015

0 Comments

 
Une nouvelle initiative numérique du Musée canadien de l'histoire :

"Cette exposition virtuelle présente plus de 150 objets sélectionnés parmi les quelque 350 qui constituent la collection John et Heather Harbinson. En 2007, le Musée canadien de l’histoire a acquis, par don et par achat, cette collection de pièces d’art décoratif canadien, l’une des plus riches en son genre. Grâce aux contributions de donateurs comme les Harbinson, le Musée se construit une collection reflétant vraiment l’histoire du Canada."
Picture

A new digital initiative from the Canadian Museum of History:

"This online exhibition presents more than 150 objects chosen from the 350 that form the John and Heather Harbinson Collection. In 2007, the Canadian Museum of History acquired, by donation and purchase, this collection of Canadian decorative arts — one of the finest of its kind. With the contribution of people such as the Harbinsons, the Museum is building a collection that is truly reflective of Canada’s history."

Picture
0 Comments

Il y a 291 ans/291 Years Ago

5/23/2015

0 Comments

 
Québec, le 23 mai 1724

Gaspard-Joseph Chaussegros de Léry adresse une lettre au ministre de la Marine et à la marquise de Vaudreuil, annonçant la fin des travaux au château Saint-Louis. La résidence peut se vanter d'avoir la seule salle à manger en Nouvelle-France, deux appartements séparés-l'un pour le gouverneur-général, l'autre pour sa femme la marquise- et une tourelle d'escalier. Le château garde son aspect 1724 jusqu'à la fin du Régime français.



Québec, 23 May 1724

Gaspard-Joseph Chaussegros de Léry sends a letter to France informing the minister of the Marine and the marquise de Vaudreuil that he has completed work on the château Saint-Louis in Québec. It now boasts the only dining room in New France, separate apartments for the governor-general and his wife, and an exterior tower containing a staircase. The château retains its 1724 appearance for the rest of the French colonial regime.

Picture
Elevation of the château Saint-Louis as completed in 1724
0 Comments

    Archives

    February 2016
    January 2016
    December 2015
    September 2015
    July 2015
    June 2015
    May 2015
    January 2015
    May 2014
    April 2014
    February 2014
    January 2014
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013

    Àbout:

    A graduate student with an interest in the people of the past and their things

    Catégories

    All

    RSS Feed

Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.